• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

One Link Rear Suspension?

zdaily

Loc.
Rogue River, OR
Okay, I know I probably will get some slack for discussing this, but I've been looking at linking the rear of my Bronco. 3 & 4 links work awesome, but I've seen some amazing flex from these one link systems, and the guys that do it right (comp rigs, etc) love them. My question is, does anyone have these setups in their EB? If so, what are the driving characteristics? hop, antisquat, etc. My bronco is going to be a wheeler, but I'd also like to safely drive the family around and drive where needed. Many dog this design because of strength, but I feel if done right strength isn't an issue, but again, I'm a rookie when it comes to this.

If you're not familiar with a one link setup, here is a link to a pirate forum that has more info on it. (look at the blue scout part way down) He is using a grader ball as a joint and a panhard in the rear for axle location, I was thinking of doing a cleaner design with a large Summit Machine Jimmy Joint or Evo joint and a cleaner wishbone design with skid plate under the driveline and a panhard at the rear also.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273512&page=2&pp=30

Let me know your input, i'd really like to see if anyone has done this before on an eb with some pics. It's similar to the stock setup in MOGs, many comp buggies run this, and also http://scorpioncars.com/ (sweet chassis) also run these as well with great success.

Attachments

• grader1.jpg
    grader1.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 200
  • grader2.jpg
    grader2.jpg
    41.1 KB · Views: 115
  • grader3.jpg
    grader3.jpg
    62.8 KB · Views: 157
  • grader4.jpg
    grader4.jpg