• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Cowl Rust and Year Differences

hsach

Contributor
Members Only
Well, I thought I was done with the rust repair on my '67. :(

I was motivated by Hot August Nights classic car show this year to start work on the bronco again, I have been letting it sit for a few years while focusing on my '78 Bronco since it is a driver and I can enjoy it now, :cool:. I looked in the opening years ago on the passenger side of the cowl and didn't see any signs of rust in the channel the top cowl panel sits on.

Dumb mistake not looking at the driver's side. Stuck a small light in there and saw some surface rust. I decided to cut open the area just above the windshield frame cowl panel to see how far the rust went. My initial plan was to only cut out that small area, clean up the underside since it is just surface rust, then weld in new metal. I figured I would just buy a new upper cowl panel, cut out the piece I need, and be good to go since the rust is minimal.

This is where I get a little confused. The panel is from Dynacorn and it is labeled as 66-77 lower cowl assembly #3734WT on the box. When I bought it, it was listed as Cowl Upper Panel 68-77. Since I have a '67 I bought the wrong panel because I wasn't paying attention. When I realized this, I started looking at the differences between the cowls and bronco years, and this led to even more confusion. ?:?

Attached are pictures of my cowl, and of the new replacement cowl. My original cowl looks like the 68-77 version, and the replacement piece is the 66-67 version.......I believe.