• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

1970 Ford Bronco 302 - Radiator Replacement

tonytony9

Contributor
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the Bronco world with my recent purchase of a 1970 Ford Bronco 302 w/ 3 speed manual. So far, I have been enjoying my experience on the forum and have received a lot of helpful feedback. I have been working on cars most of my life, although, I definitely consider myself an amateur eager to learn.

I am looking for any tips or advice on installing a new radiator. Current radiator is cracked at the overflow tube and loosing coolant. PO supplied a Tom's Offroad Working Man #6370 in the box that I would like to get installed this week. Since the Bronxo did not come stock with an overflow tank, is there a way to retro fit one to this system?

Any tips, advice on flushing the system, recommended coolant (assuming just a 50/50 mix from autoparts store), general process. Links to existing threads.

Need to buy a new radiator cap, I am assuming its a 13lb. Also, considering buying new bracket bushings from Tom's. Hoses look new.

On all of my drives, 55 mile max drive, temperature on the gauge sat between 120 and 170 and has consistently sat between those the past few weeks of ownership. I have had to top off the coolant once or twice.

https://tomsoffroad.com/parts/66-77-ford-bronco-3-core-aluminum-radiator

Thank you!

gnpenning

Contributor
Bronco Slave
Loc.
I have more questions than answers.
IF your gauge is correct you are running way to cool. If you have a IR temp gun double check your gauge reading.

You need to be checking your thermostat if it has one and you can put it in a pan and heat up for opening temp. Really not hard to do.