• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

New Starter. Won't Start

NolaBoy

Ok. I have some issues with the bronco lately. I had some engine compartment work done recently and I have trouble ever since. Hopefully you guys can help me trouble shoot. I'm new to this so I'm learning as I go.

When I got the truck back I noticed that the person doing the work had bypassed the ballast resistor and had a wire going directly from the hot full side to the coil. He said he thought I needed a new electronic ignition but this bypass apparently fixed what he thought was the problem of not getting spark. When I got it home I removed the ballast and noticed it was broken, also inspected the coil and it was leaking oil (prob from the bypass). I got a new coil and new ballast. Cranked right up! Better than ever. Started to notice a horrific grinding while trying to start and noticed that the starter was barely hanging on (he must have removed it and not gotten it back on correctly). The starter was shot so I bought a new one. Installed it and it would start but slow and noticed a little grind. Removed it and took it back. They had given me the wrong one and it failed the test anyway. Got my money back from that one and decided to try the PMGR upgrade as described here. Got one from AutoZone. A new one. DLG581S. Installed no prob. Now when I try to start it wont turn over. Starter seems to engage but it wont crank. No spark? No fuel? Ignition module shot? Any suggestions on how to pinpoint the problem would be great. Its been one problem after another since I got it back. Thanks.

Jimmy

OP
OP
N

NolaBoy

I wired it using this same diagram. I haven't changed any other wiring.

OP
OP
N

NolaBoy