• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

My new (to me) 71 Bronco | Build Thread

Mikes79Bronco

Loc.
Homer Glen, IL
I bought my first EB last week, I'm not new to the bronco world but I'm new to the EB world. I have a 79 with a full frame off restoration going on & decided I wanted an EB to enjoy while that one is down for the build. The 71 won't be going through a full restoration anytime soon but there is plenty of work to be done on in the meantime.

1971 Bronco
Engine:
289 V8
Transmission: NP435
Transfer Case: Dana 20 with twin sticks
Rear End: 9 Inch
Front End: D44 Disc brake (I believe its either from or it was converted to the 76-77 style brakes)
Tires: 35x12.5 BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain

I picked it up a few hours away from me in Wisconsin. He said he bought it from someone in Florida last year, other than that I don't know anything about its history (I need to get a marti report). It has some rust, it has some dents but overall I'm pretty happy with he condition of the body. It leaks & drips from just about everywhere, has bump steer, death wobble, wrist pin knock and is an electrical nightmare. I've already started addressing some of that, hopefully I'll have it more road worthy in the next few weeks. The goal right now is just to get it road worthy and enjoy it for the summer.

Snapchat-1728017500.jpg

PXL_20230521_011634340.MP(1).jpg

PXL_20230523_001327403.MP.jpg

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Nice start! And another green ‘71 as well.
Must’ve been a popular color at that point, and three of us (two buddies and me) had them.

Is yours an early (with Dana 30), or a late (with Dana 44) front end?
Do you know what gears are in it yet?

sprdv1

Contributor
REBEL