• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

How many miles are to much.

Tim in Az

Loc.
Mesa
Starting to look for Mustang donor car. How many miles are to many to just simply drop in and not rebuild.

Thanks Tim.

bmc69

Contributor
Bronco Guru
My rule of thumb is that anything over 80K is suspect and at least needs to be torn down and re-assembled with a 250-dollar 'light', or 're-ring' overhaul kit.

That said..I've torn down 5.0 engines with 120K that were pristine inside and said to myself 'doh!!' for doing it. But I was an automotive machinist many moons ago..and I have a hard time taking short cuts with engines.

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I would say about 150k.

Trouble is Mustangs have such varied lives. The more stock the engine is, the more mileage I consider them good for. When stuff starts getting added to them (cold air, exhaust) that generally means that they are driven harder in there life. With a factory tuned and properly working EFI 100k on an engine is nothing like it is on an older carbed engine. I am finding that a stock engine is generally good for about 200k. Over the past decade I have been noting that is a good general life of just about any factory engine under normal conditions without ever taking the valve covers off (and often never replacing a spark plug either). I can think of several engines (my old 2.9 BronoII, friends 5.0 Explorer, Chevy pickup, other random assorted stuff) that was good to the 200k mark but tired after that. So 150k should be good for about 50k of life. If it was driven hard, raced, abused, questionable upgrades, it could easily be dead before 80k.

broncnaz

Bronco Guru