• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Upgrade / Winter project feedback

NYC Bronco

Thinking about doing the following before the warm weather arrives in NY.

My Bronco:'76 302, C4, with stock front disc and rear drums, hydrobosted. Stock suspension, 15" wheels with 31x10.5, flares. EOM Dana 4 in Front and OEM 9" in rear.

Me: I'm no mechanic but I'm trying to get my learn on and I welcome all advice.

Where we drive: mostly on pavement, fields, beach. I don't do any crawling or wheeling. I take it hunting and fishing and to cruise around.

Whats my goal: Improve ride and safety. I want better ride/responsiveness and better braking as I'm also going family cage and putting in car seats so my toddlers can ride along with us. The lift will also offer a more aesthetically pleasing stance.

Project 1: Upgrade the brakes to new disc all the way around

Project 2: Duff 2.5" Suspension kit. https://dufftuff.com/product/system-a-2-1-2-basic-suspension-w-leafs-1966-77-bronco/
Question: will i need to, or should I replace/update the OEM drive shafts?
Question: will i need to, or should I replace/update the OEM sway bar?

what am I missing or overlooking?

Once I do this I will probably get 32"s or 33"s and stick with the 15" wheels although I suppose I could go to 17" with the lift.

svastano

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Pulaski, PA
I didn't have any sway bars but I broke the bank and both both front and rear Hellwig Sway bars and that is a great feeling. Rides better than my Superduty.

DC_Gearhead

Project 1: you’ll be fine if you buy the right kit. I suggest WH kit

Project 2: I did the same lift and didn’t need new drive shafts. I also don’t have a sway bar, stock or otherwise.