• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

1979 F150 9 inch housing and axles value

dmoses42

Contributor
Bronco addict
Loc.
Brunswick, Ga
Pretty much what is in the thread title. Is there much value in a 1979 F150 9 inch housing and axles? I bought the entire rear end from a junk yard to use the 3rd member and brake backing plates for a 1977 Bronco 9 inch housing I have. The '79 housing has the smaller flange bolts, so I'll have to drill the backing plates out for the correct bolts, but I thought I'd put that info in there in case it might affect the housing value. Axles are 31spline, the rear came from a 4wd, splines look good to me but I'm not an expert. Let me know if I should post some pics, if it would help.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Interesting that it has smaller bolts. Is it the tapered roller bearing type, or sealed bearings?
Should be tapered rollers, as I think they all were by then, but I don’t know.

OP
OP
dmoses42

dmoses42

Contributor
Bronco addict
Loc.
Brunswick, Ga
Tapered rollers. I do find it odd that my '77 Bronco housing (the one I'm building, it came with factory 28 spline axles) had sealed bearings. I thought it would have had tapered rollers too, but it didn't. The reading I did on this site said '79 (maybe other years?) could have 3/8" or 1/2" axle retainer bolts, and this full size rear end has the 3/8" bolts. It was complete drum to drum, the drums and brake innards are no good but the shoes are 2-1/4" and the drums are a bit over 11" inside diameter.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Yeah, that’s consistent. No early bronco got 31 spline axles or tapered roller bearings.