• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

4.6, t18, d20

fatboy

Contributor
Glad to be here.
Loc.
New Hampshire
First off, Welcome to the site, you will get your answers here. Second, a suggestion; you should edit your first post a bit, one word really as this is a family site. You need to head over to off topic to use that language and still you don't see that word very often.

Now on to your dilemma, I have seen at least one other truck in person running a 4.6 and he was happy with it and a fabricator by trade. Adaptors will be necessary regardless of what you run if they are not stock. Even stock had some different transmission to transfer case parts depending on what transmission you were running and the year.

Wasn't there a 9" under it already or was it sitting in the woods with no axles under it?

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
And don't expect big mileage gains with the 4.6 and a T18 for all your work I would not think.
I could be way off with that, but I do believe that no matter that it's a modern EFI engine (you going to run the full modern setup? Or a variation?) or not, most are not seeing huge gains.
That said, I bet an Explorer 5.0 could get over 20 on the highway with the right gearing and not too big a tire. I get almost 20 with mine. But it's back down to 11 or so in the city.

Are you planning lift and big tires as well?

Paul

OP
OP
C

CoMoFo

Loc.
Nashville